“Do I have to pay sales tax?” Probably not…

The internet sales tax, short story.

For many years, individual states have concluded they were losing money not being able to collect sales tax on internet purchases. On June 21, 2018, the U.S. Supreme Court paved the way for the collection of sales tax from retailers selling online, declaring that individual states can require sales tax on internet purchases.

Provisions for charging / collecting sales tax on your guitar & amp purchases vary by individual state. The “Economic Nexus” (sales volume) requires businesses to collect sales tax once they have met a certain level of sales transactions or threshold within each state, measured on an annual basis.

The good news is, many of the state thresholds are large numbers. Currently, Artisan Guitars is not required to collect sales tax for purchases from outside the state of Tennessee.

  • - No sales tax on purchases completed by phone (from outside Tennessee)
  • - No sales tax on purchases through our website (from outside Tennessee)
  • - No sales tax on purchases made in our shop, (when shipped to you outside the state of Tennessee)

If you are purchasing on Reverb, eBay, or Amazon and reside in one of the following states, you will be charged sales tax (and the list grows each month):

  • Alabama
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kentucky
  • Maine
  • Minnesota
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Nebraska
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Texas
  • Tennessee
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington State
  • Washington DC
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

Watch this post for future updates, adding more states to this list in 2020 (updated 11/9/2019).